Honey Mustard Crock Pot Spare Ribs

DSC_0193I have this thing about getting my hands sloppy and messy with finger food. It kind of freaks me out, and I’m not sure why. Back in college, I was a cake decorator at a local grocery store chain, and getting frosting all over my hands would make me come undone. True story. Luckily, these ribs are so tasty that I didn’t even notice I was tearing in with my paws until they were almost gone.

My amazing Australian pen pal (yes, I have a pen pal) Georgia sent me the most thoughtful care package last week, and inside was a super tasty brown mustard. I thought there was no better way to enjoy it then to make a sweet and spicy honey mustard glaze for the ribs. The ribs came out so tender.

Do you have not as much time to cook as you’d like? You’re not alone. Okay, now go and order yourself a crock pot if you don’t already have one (I recommend one with a digital timer and keep warm function) and make this recipe. Smile and enjoy your tasty meal knowing that it basically cooked itself. This recipe is a mashup between two non-Paleo one’s from Rachel Ray and the White On Rice Couple. I adapted them and put them together. Voila! This batch of ribs was relatively small (1.5 lb of meat) because, well, I’m a single person. Double your recipe (or more) depending on how many people you’re serving.

Prep time: 15 min     Cook time: 6 hours    Makes: 1.5 lb of ribs

Ingredients:

For the ribs:

  • 2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp Worcestershire sauce (look for gluten free options, I used Lea & Perrins)
  • 1 Tbsp honey
  • 2 tsp brown mustard
  • 1 tsp hot sauce
  • 1 cup broth, any kind
  • 1-inch piece of ginger, peeled
  • 1 star anise
  • 1.5 lb (700g) of spare ribs, pork or beef

For the honey-mustard glaze:

  • 1/4 cup mustard, any kind (I used brown)
  • 2 Tbsp water
  • 1 Tbsp honey
  • 2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp tomato paste
  • 1 tsp coconut aminos
  • Pinch of cayenne pepper
  • Black pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Prepare the braising liquid for the ribs by combining the balsamic vinegar, Worcestershire sauce, honey, mustard, hot sauce, and broth in a small bowl. 
  2. Put the ribs in the crock pot. Cut to fit, if needed. Pour the braising liquid over and drop in the ginger and star anise.
  3. Cover, set to low, and cook for 6 hours. I flipped the ribs over once during cooking.
  4. For the sauce, combine the ingredients in a small saucepan and simmer over low heat until it has reduced / thickened a bit. Stir often.
  5. I kept it simple by removing the ribs from the crock pot (gently because they will probably fall apart) and basting them with the honey mustard sauce. I served with extra sauce on the side for dipping.
  6. NOMS.
11 thoughts on “Honey Mustard Crock Pot Spare Ribs

  1. Looks yummy! I’m not the biggest fan of mustard but I’m starting to like it more! Once I feel really comfortable with my level of mustard liking I’ll give these a try! :) A crock pot is a life saver in the kitchen!

  2. Definitely gonna cook this, please more crock pot dishes, I use mine a lot but usually make the same thing.

  3. Pingback: Paleo Memorial Day Menu | Stupid Easy Paleo

Leave a Reply

