I Did THAT! A Reverse Bucket List

Well how about that for the first non-food related post in the Random category?!

Photo Aug 12, 10 58 43 AM

I’m utterly and completely guilty of too often looking forward in life and never reflecting backward. The number of times the thought, “I really want to do *insert cool thing here*,” is mumbled in my grey matter seems pretty enormous. I always want to be better, to do more. Recently, my Twitter friend Katie – CrossFit strong woman and outdoor adventurist – shared a blog post about engineering one’s own reverse bucket list. Immediately, it struck a chord. When I paused for just a moment and gave it consideration, the list of incredible things I’ve already accomplished started to grow like wildfire. Here are the moments I’m most proud of (in no particular order):

  • Take my first trip outside of the United States. In 2011, I had the most amazing 2 week adventure in Bali. It opened my eyes and changed my life and was one of the first times I realized how similar humans from all parts of the world can really be – and in part, how fortunate I am.
  • Start a business. My friend Trish and I recently started Healthy Happy Fit Life, a wellness coaching venture. We help people pursue life-long health through one-on-one and small group coaching.
  • Hike up a glacier. Admittedly, hiking up Mount Rainier was one of the most frightening things I’ve ever done, but it gave me some important perspective on just how small humans can feel when faced with the raw power of nature.
  • Earn my Master’s degree. I’m the first person in my immediate family to have done that.
  • Ride my mountain bike in some of the most amazing places in North America: Whistler, Downieville, Moab, Crested Butte, the forests of the northeast and the deserts of the southwest. The memories I have and the friends I’ve made from my time as a mountain biker are priceless.
  • Run a marathon. Even though I’ll never run one again (and that’s a promise), the fact that I accomplished something I thought I never believed I could actually do is one of my favorite things.
  • Start my own Paleo website. Here. This. Stupid Easy Paleo was born of my love of cooking and my enthusiasm for this way of eating.
  • Take lead paddle on a whitewater rafting trip. On my 4th trip to the Lochsa, I sat front left – lead paddle. What an intense and amazing experience.
  • Compete in a weightlifting meet. Back in the summer of 2011, my coach Dave suggested I lift in the California State Games after only being in Oly club for a couple weeks. I committed and ended up with a medal and a lot of confidence.
  • Move across the country. In 2004 I moved to Arizona from Massachusetts, and while the circumstances didn’t end up working out the way I had planned, I’ll always be proud of the fact that I took a chance.
  • Place athletic performance over appearance. Ever since I stopped obsessing about what I look like and started focusing more on what I can do, my life improved dramatically.
  • Take a long distance solo road trip. In 2004, I traveled from Arizona to Mammoth Mountain in California which at the time was the longest trip I’d ever taken alone.
  • Complete the Navy Seals O-Course. I faced every obstacle, even the ones that scared me to death…and made it.
  • Back squat over 260 pounds. I’ve always had strong legs but even I didn’t know if I’d surpass that number (and looking ahead, I’m chasing 2x bodyweight).

Admittedly, that felt pretty damn good! What are you most proud of? Do you get stuck only thinking of what you haven’t yet accomplished? Write your own reverse bucket list and share the link in the comments below. I’d love to see how kick-ass you are!

13 thoughts on “I Did THAT! A Reverse Bucket List

  1. Impressive list, were did you do the seal o-course? I would love to give that a try. One of my best adventures was a cross country road trip with my brother, you never realize how big this country is. Your an inspiration!

    • Hi Roy…thanks so much! The course is here in San Diego. I have friends in the Navy so they invited me along to try it. It’s amazing when you think of how many unique and diverse places we have in the States!

  2. Pingback: Reverse Bucket List | Lane Robbins Design

Leave a Reply

