Pickled Jicama

If you’ve never had jicama, it’s got an interesting texture that’s like that of a crispy apple but neutral in flavor. I’ve sliced it into salads and even slow cooked it until it took on the resemblance of home fries. Recently, I ordered a salad at one of my new favorite eating spots–Craft & Commerce in the Little Italy district of San Diego–and it came with what I guessed was pickled jicama. It was tangy and crunchy and definitely better than regular pickles. I set out to recreate them at home, but my first batch wasn’t great–I used regular pickling spices, and it just wasn’t the same. So last week, while dining at C & C I asked the waitress if she could find out the ingredients for me. She came back with the info from the kitchen: rice wine vinegar, salt, sugar and chilies. Alright, so for the whole batch I did use a teaspoon of sugar…come get me, Paleo cops…but I’m sure you could leave it out.

Ingredients

1 medium-sized jicama

1.5 cups rice wine vinegar

2 tsp sea salt

1 tsp unrefined cane sugar

1 serrano chili pepper (optional)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Directions

1. Peel the jicama with a knife and cut into small cubes.

2. Slice the chili pepper into rings.

3. In a small saucepan on medium heat, add the vinegar, salt and sugar. Stir until combined.

4. Pour the hot vinegar over the jicama cubes, and add the chili pepper.

5. Pack into a quart-sized mason jar and refrigerate. Tastes best when it has marinated for at least 24 hours.

6 thoughts on “Pickled Jicama

  1. Do you think you could do this with a different kind of vinegar – maybe apple cider vinegar? You might not need the sugar since it has some sweetness, or maybe use some honey?

  2. I am so excited to find this. I Googled “pickled jicama” and the number one rank was a paleo site! It’s nice to see the real food movement take off!

Leave a Reply

