Mediterranean Turkey Burgers

I love big flavors. B I G. I also really appreciate Mediterranean taste combinations…sometimes I think I was born in the wrong part of the world. I also think I may be the only person in the world who loves canned artichoke hearts as much as I do. Together with the tart punch from the sun-dried tomato and the brininess of the olives, this recipe is a nice departure from the boring old hamburger.

Ingredients:

1 package ground turkey breast (99% fat free)

1 jar whole roasted red pepper (I like the jar from Trader Joe’s), chopped small

2 garlic cloves, chopped fine

12 pitted Kalamata olives, chopped

1/3 cup sundried tomatoes, chopped

1 tbsp dried oregano

salt and pepper

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Directions:

1. Chop all veggies and place in a large mixing bowl with ground turkey. Sprinkle with S & P. Mix well by hand (come on, get your hands dirty!).

 

2. Shape into medium-sized patties (I got about 7–cooked up 5 and froze 2).

3. In a large skillet, heat your fat of choice over medium-high heat. Saute burgers for about 5 minutes per side or thrown on the grill for about the same.

 

8 thoughts on “Mediterranean Turkey Burgers

  1. I’m not the biggest fan of turkey burgers, but mostly because they’re always kind of dry and flavorless. These seem to just be bursting with flavor :)

  2. I prefer the simplest way to cook everything, so recipes – even really tasty ones – are usually more trouble than they’re worth for me. And my husband is not very adventurous when it comes to food. He will try it, but then goes back to the basics.

    So from this recipe, here’s my simple formula: 1 pound of ground sirloin, maybe half a cup of chopped sun-dried tomatoes (in olive oil, ’cause that’s what I had) and four chopped (large!) green olives that were stuffed with garlic & jalapeno. Mix together, cook in a medium hot skillet. Makes 3 good sized patties. I love the way the tomatoes brown nicely, without scorching. AND HE LIKED IT! We’ll have this again, soon.

    Thanks for the inspiration.

    • Hi Kathy! Wow this is such great news. Sometimes eating paleo (or just “healthier” for that matter) is tough if a significant other isn’t really on board. I like your twist on the recipe very much! Truthfully, I usually don’t measure when I cook (I do if I’m baking) so I usually eyeball things too. So glad that you both liked it!

      Steph

  3. These were really good. Except it seemed like overkill on the oregano. I would definitely cut out half of the oregano next time. I will be making these again. :)

Leave a Reply

