Beef Jerky

Salty. Chewy. Meaty.


It’s beef jerky, of course, and we all seem to love it. What I don’t love is 1) the price and 2) all the other chemicals and crap they put in it. With that in mind, I did a little research and made this simple recipe (and if you were wondering, it isWhole30 approved).

The Coconut Aminos were purchased at Sprouts (or look at your local health food store i.e. Whole Paycheck), and really are the key to the flavor (plus, it’s not soy-based and has a lot less sodium than soy sauce and is devoid of gluten unlike tamari).

Ingredients:

1 lb. lean London broil or top sirloin (grass-fed if you can find it)

1 bottle coconut aminos (I used ~half the bottle or 4 oz, found in the vinegar section of the market)

Equipment:

Large ziploc bag

2 good racks (haha)…you need something to elevate the jerky so that it dries on both sides

2 baking sheets

Aluminum foil

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Directions:

1. Trim all visible fat from the meat. Throw the whole steak in the freezer for 30-45 minutes. You want to firm up the meat (ha!) before you slice it.

2. Remove from the freezer and use a sharp knife to cut the steak against the grain (so it’s not as tough) and on the bias (diagonally, so you get wider pieces). You want the pieces to be less than 1/8″ thickness and as consistent as possible.

3. Throw the pieces in a large plastic bag and pour about 1/3-1/2 cup of the coconut aminos into the bag.

4. BE PATIENT and let marinate it for a few hours (or overnight). Trust me…it’ll taste better.

5. To dehydrate (jerkify), set your oven to 200 degrees. Line two baking sheets with aluminum foil. Place the racks on top (again, you want to leave the jerky exposed to air on both sides). I used cooling racks intended for baking.

6. Place jerky on the racks, leaving a little space between.

7. Bake for approximately 2 hours (checking frequently) or until it is, well, jerky-like!

8. Store in an airtight container. I put mine in the fridge so it’ll keep even longer.

So, as you can see, stupid-easy…you just need some patience. It may not taste like the overly salty jerky you are used to, but I promise it’s so much better (and cheaper!). You could definitely mix it up by adding some chopped jalapenos, garlic, or crushed black pepper into the marinade to. Check out this version from The Food Lovers Kitchen (with garlic and smoky chipotle) and this one from my good pal Jen’s Gone Paleo (with a hint of sweetness from apple juice). Enjoy!

29 thoughts on “Beef Jerky

  1. Yay! I love the homemade jerky! I’m so puzzled by the commercial jerky, why do they do that? Even the “organic” brands have crap in them. Mostly sugar. What are they thinking? Thanks for promoting the DIY. I was afraid to try it at first, dried uncooked meat? There must be some commercial sanitary secret. But after the first batch, I’m totally hooked and go through at least a pound a week. I like roasts, the little fat bits are really good! I like it really thin and extra crispy. Meat chips!

  2. Made a batch of jerky, best I’ve ever had and so easy, can’t keep it away from my friends at work or the gym. Thanks so much

  3. Pingback: How to Eat Paleo While Training « stupideasypaleo

  4. Hi! I really want to try making this beef jerky, but I just spent forever driving around town and I can’t find coconut aminos anywhere! People just give me funny looks when I ask them if they carry it… Is there something I can use as a substitute, or would it be better to try and order it online?

  5. Pingback: Easy, Tasty, Money Saving Beef Jerky | Gear Diary

  6. Pingback: Quick and Easy Snack Ideas | Farm Fresh and Active

  7. Pingback: Sausage, Beef and Pork / Day 2 « CrossfitGrrl

  8. Pingback: Feeling a Little Off / Day 10 – 11 « CrossfitGrrl

  9. This seems awesome. How long would this jerky last? Basically, it’d be really cool if I could just make a whole bunch of it and not have to worry about cooking more for a few weeks or so… how long would I have to finish it off before it’d go bad?

  10. Pingback: Eating Paleo France

  11. Pingback: Big People Snack Ideas!

Leave a Reply

