Best Cauliflower Side Dish Ever

finished dish

This is a remake of an older recipe I had on my other blog. If you’ve landed here because you are participating in the Whole30, this dish falls within the nutritional parameters of the program. It’s quick and satisfying and makes a large portion which I like, because I can eat the leftovers for a few days.

Ingredients:

1 head cauliflower, grated

1 package, shittake mushrooms

6 green onions

2 shallots, minced

1 tsp fresh ginger, minced

3 tbsp coconut aminos (no soy sauce or tamari, please)

3 eggs

Coconut oil

Meat of choice (I used grilled steak)

Sesame oil for garnish*

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Directions:

1. Grate the cauliflower using a food processor (or if you have time and the patience of a saint, a box grater).

2. Prep the veggies (slice the green onions and mushrooms thinly and mince the shallot/ginger).

3. Heat a large skillet/wok to high heat. Add a spoonful or two of coconut oil. Saute the mushrooms, shallot and ginger for ~3 min or until they begin to soften, stirring often.

4. Add the cauliflower, green onions and coconut aminos. Saute for ~5 min.

5. Push the veggies to the side of the skillet and create a well. Crack the eggs into the well and scramble (yes, kind of like you’d do with fried rice). Stir everything to combine.

6. Top with a meat of your choice. I prepared it this time with slices of grilled steak on top. Shrimp is also delicious with this.

7. *Garnish with a drizzle of sesame oil, if preferred. Please do not cook the veggies with sesame oil as it’s high in Omega 6’s and will oxidize easily at high heat. A nice drizzle at the end to finish off the dish after it’s been plated is super yummy.

24 thoughts on “Best Cauliflower Side Dish Ever

  1. Stephanie,
    Heard about your blog from Whole9. A delight.
    Why does Paleo have an issue with soy sauce or Tamari?
    Been eating mostly Paleo and doing Crossfit for two years
    and still have a lot to learn.
    Following your blog. Thank you for that.
    Dana Law
    El Cajon

    • Hi Dana!
      Soy sauce and tamari contain soy and wheat. These foods are known to cause inflammation of the gut lining. Folks following a Whole30/Whole9 approach are trying to give their systems a chance to heal, and even small amounts of these inflammatory foods can sensitize the system all over again. Here is a link to their Legume Manifesto: http://whole9life.com/2011/04/legume-manifesto/ and Grain Manifesto: http://whole9life.com/2010/03/the-grain-manifesto/. Coconut aminos are found in most “health food” stores. I’m right down the road from you in Chula Vista so I get mine at Sprouts/Henrys (usually in the salad dressing/vinegar section) or at Whole Foods. Hope this helps! I’m still most definitely learning every single day! Thank you :)

      • Stephanie,
        Thank you for your quick reply. I have a Sprouts here in El Cajon. I’ll give it a try.
        The wife of many years (who thinks we’re nuts and and obsessive but is a wonderful cook) says she’ll help me with the recipe.
        Looking forward to your posts.
        Magically,
        Dana Law
        Amazing Dana the Nutrition Magician

      • Yay, I’m in Mission Bay and was JUST wondering where to find coconut aminos in San Diego…I love that y’all are local, especially since I randomly found you on Pinterest. :)

      • Hi Sarah! Wow, so cool that you are local. I am on Pinterest now?! Awesome! I have seen coconut aminos at both Sprouts and Whole Foods. I’m not sure about traditional grocery stores (Vons, Albertsons, etc) as I rarely shop there. I know Trader Joe’s does not carry it. Happy cooking!

      • Sarah,
        Yes, I need those Coconut Aminos. I want to make some jerky with it for my hikes too. I’m going to check Jimbo’s or Whole Foods when I’m out that way. I live in El Cajon. Sprouts here doesn’t have it.
        Are you a Crossfitter?
        Yours in health,
        Dana Law

      • Thank you. I’m on it. Jimbo’s has Early Girl Dry Farm tomatoes in August. Nature’s Candy Tomato. Wildly expensive but the best sweetest tomato ever.
        Dana Law

      • I wish I lived closer to a Jimbo’s! I’ve been there once and loved it. I’m also excited about the local summer produce that is coming into season!

  2. Pingback: April 24, 2012 – T « Getting Stronger

  3. Pingback: May 1, 2012 – T « Getting Stronger

  4. Stephanie: yup, I found you on Pinterest. I guess that’s how you know you’ve made it, huh? :)

    Dana: I did Crossfit when I was in the military, but now I just do lots and lots of yoga. I eat clean and pretty low carb, but not hard-core paleo.

  5. This was delicious!! Thank you! My guest loved it and asked “yum – what’s in this…besides rice of course?” He didn’t believe me at first when I told him there was no rice. It was that good! Thanks again – I will make this a lot!

  6. Sorry, to bother again, but with the shallots, do you mean 2 whole shallots regardless of how many cloves there may be, or two shallot cloves. Is there an approximate volume measure you can give?

  7. Yum! I have made this twice now. I used a Gluten Free soy sauce in it. =) Very tasty! The gluten free soy sauce can be found at Trader Joe’s!

Leave a Reply

