Review: Candela’s On the Bay Paleo Menu

One of Coronado’s nicest restaurants with a view of the San Diego skyline is Candela’s, and now it’s gone next-level with the addition of a Paleo menu supplement with a Mexican flair like that of the restaurant’s original offerings. This is a huge step forward for the local Paleo scene (now we just need a Paleo coffeehouse in downtown…hmmm maybe a new business venture for me?!). To make the deal even sweeter, Candela’s is offering 20% off the Paleo menu bill until 9/18 if you mention you are from a local CrossFit affiliate so get on down there before the week is up!

the view from the Candela's patio

My goal isn’t to review the restaurant as a whole but rather to show some of the Paleo menu offerings and make a few comments. Will I go back? For a special occasion…sure! I rarely eat out anymore (cheaper and healthier to eat at home and frankly, I love to cook).

the Paleo menu

I ordered the Raspberry Salad, Duck Tacos and Coconut Creme Brûlée. The salad…decently tasty, but I was honestly salivating over my friends’ choice of the Avocado Soup (I snagged a spoonful to taste, and it was divine…rich, creamy and flavorful).

Raspberry Salad

The main course of Duck Tacos was filling and tasty, the jicama slices substituting well as tortillas. The meat was nicely spiced (though maybe a tiny bit on the dry side), and the sweetness of the pineapple and flavor compliment provided by the onion rounded out the flavors. As for the nopales salad…first time I’ve ever had nopales (sliced cactus pads), and I wasn’t prepared for the texture (a little like cooked okra), but it was interesting to try something new.

Duck Tacos

Portion size was just right

Crab Ceviche looked divine

The Ensenada...Smoked Salmon and Scallops

I of course partook in the dessert offering of Coconut Creme Brûlée. It’s sweetened crust of honey and coconut (crispy and topped with fresh raspberries) was the crown over a the deliciously rich creme. I savored every single bite since dessert is a rarity these days for me.

Coconut Creme Brûlée

With the 20% discount, my bill (no alcoholic beverages…just sparkling water for me) totaled about $27 for the three courses, which I’d gladly pay again for a nice dinner out to celebrate something special. Not having to worry about the menu choices or how I would modify a dish to suit my Paleo way of eating was a welcomed change. Here’s hoping Candela’s continues to offer their Paleo menu and even expands upon it in the future. In the meantime, check them out on the lovely island of Coronado.

3 thoughts on “Review: Candela’s On the Bay Paleo Menu

  1. Great review (love the pics!) and thanks for the heads up. Alicia’s folks have a place on the island and we haven’t been impressed with the restaurants so far. We’ll definitely try this place soon!

Leave a Reply

